History of the Delta Covered Bridge
The Delta Covered Bridge once spanned 76 feet across the North Skunk River. It was constructed in 1867 by Joseph Merryfield and James Harlan at a cost of $1,620 plus $500 raised by popular subscription. It was originally built without a roof, but one year later the Keokuk County Board of Supervisors appropriated an additional $350 for enclosing it.
In 1955, the residents of Delta requested that it be restored. The county authorized $1,850 for the restoration, which exceeded the original cost of the bridge. The bridge is unique because of its Burr Arch Truss design. It is possibly the only remaining bridge of this type in Iowa and the oldest bridge of this type west of the Mississippi River. This style of bridge is typical of many Pennsylvania Dutch bridges of the east.
This popular part was purchased in 1962 by the Keokuk County Conservation Board in response to public pressure to preserve the historic covered bridge.